Basketweave Afghan

Well, I didn’t think I’d be posting anymore this week, but I actually have something to show!! The large basketweave project I alluded to here 2 months ago(!) is finally complete.

watermark-basketweave-small.jpgThe vital statistics are as follows: 46″ x 60″, made in Red Heart Super Saver with my trusty J hook. I have to admit, it was a challenge. The BPDCs would quickly tire my wrist and, as the afghan got larger and more heavy, I nearly had to wrestle it as I was working along. Who would have thought that acrylic yarn could end up being so heavy? I failed to keep precise count, but I think I used 9 skeins, which would bring it in at a couple ounces under 4 pounds. And the basketweave stitch makes a very thick cloth, lemme tell ya. It is a yarn-eater.

I must say, however, that I’m quite pleased with the finished project. The stitches are prominant enough so that the basketweave effect is clearly visible. The only thing I’d do differently, if/when I make another, is to use a lighter weight yarn….4 ply worsted is simply too thick and heavy for this stitch/pattern in this (gulf coast) climate.

3 responses to “Basketweave Afghan

  1. That’s lovely! We’re just starting with the right sort of weather for afghans. Maybe I should have concentrated on finishing my crocheted sampler blanket….🙄

  2. Good morning!

    Where can I obtain your pattern for your Sage Green Basketweave Afghan, November 20, 2007?

    I have terminal CA (cancer) and I’ve lost my pattern and want to make this afghan like yours in the worse way.

    Appreciate hearing from you.

    Warmest regards and God bless,

    J.J.

  3. J.J., thank you for your comment.

    There really is no pattern….it’s simply a stitch pattern of front- and back post double crochets. Here’s a link to a tutorial on CrochetMe for doing the stitch to create the basketweave effect:
    http://crochetme.com/working-around-the-post-exploring-raised-double-crochets

    I hope that helps and best wishes to you.
    Paula

Leave a Reply

