Nothing New

Well, I’ve neglected to post in a few days, mainly because I don’t have any new project pics uploaded, and blogs without pics can be rather boring. We love to see pics, don’t we? They’re little glimpses into other people’s lives that somehow make us feel connected.

On the crochet front, I’m finally doing washcloths. I resisted making them because I felt they were rather mundane & never really understood the fascination….until I used one. Now I get it. The texture is quite pleasing. And the color combos add a little whimsy to bath time.

Other works-in-progress: the basketweave afghan is coming along……slowly. The stitches are such that after a couple rows, my wrist begins to tire and I have to put it down. I do love the basketweave effect and planned on doing one in a flecked yarn, but it may be awhile before I’m ready to tackle another one. I really need to finish the giant ripple I’ve been working on for months, but I really got burned out on it.

DD & I went to Michael’s today….I wanted to check out their yarn. Talked myself out of buying any and bought candles instead. Well okay, there’s a hint of Fall in the air & we get all ‘nesty’ this time of year that makes us want to buy candles and essential oils and baskets and….well, I had enough yarn already anyway. It was a nice Mother and Daughter Day.

Since I don’t have any crochet pictures to share, I’ll leave you with a couple pics from earlier this summer when we took our youngest grandson to watch the re-enactment of The Battle of San Jacinto, where Texas won it’s independence from Mexico.

 General Sam Houston prepares his meager forces who, greatly outnumbered, advance on Santa Anna’s camp….

  ……and the rest, as they say, is history.

Leave a Reply

